COVID Resources

Executive Council

Jay Brown


Leyza Blanco


Kacy Donlon


Doug Bates


Gregory Yadley

Chair of Long Range Planning

Michael Chesal

Immediate Past Chair

Stefanie Svisco

Section Administrator

Jay Brown is a partner with Akerman LLP and serves as Chair of the Business Law Section.   Jay practices primarily in the areas of bankruptcy, commercial litigation, and business law representing business entities and individuals in their capacities as creditors, committees, trustees, and debtors.  Jay’s practice includes workouts and business reorganizations.   Prior to serving as Treasurer, Jay served as Chair of The Business Law Section’s Bankruptcy/UCC, Bankruptcy Judicial Liaison and Legislation Committees and has served on the Section’s Executive Council for many years.

Michael Chesal is a partner with Peretz Chesal Herrmann in Miami, Florida and is the Immediate Past Chair of the Business Law Section. Chesal is Board Certified in Intellectual Property Law and helps clients with a variety of trademark, copyright, patent, trade secret, domain names, and computer software protection, registration, and infringement issues. Prior to serving as Secretary-Treasurer, Chesal served as Chair of The Florida Bar’s Intellectual Property Law Committee, Chair of the Legislation Committee, Chair of the Retreat Committee, and has served on the Section’s Executive Council for many years.

Role of the Executive Council

The Executive Council is the governing body of the Section and is made up of the Section’s officers, chairs and vice-chairs of the substantive and standing committees, and all members of the Long Range Planning committee.