Pro Bono Committee

John Macdonald

Chair

Marisa Rosen

Vice Chair

Honorable Laurel Isicoff

Judicial Chair

 

Who We Are

The mission of the Pro Bono Committee is to achieve 100% participation in Pro Bono Service by Business Law Section members and attorneys in their firms.

The primary goal of the Pro Bono Committee is to increase participation in pro bono services among Business Law Section members.  The Committee focuses on identifying and highlighting projects that encourage such participation.

 Committee Projects

Non-Profit Clinics.  The Committee plans and hosts non-profit clinics in various cities around the state.  The purpose of the clinics is to provide underserved non-profits with legal services that they would otherwise not have access to or be able to afford.  They also provide transactional attorneys with an opportunity to do pro bono in their own field as opposed to having to take on a pro bono litigation matter.  If you are interested in volunteering for or receiving more information on the Committee’s non-profit clinics, please email the contact person for the non-profit clinic nearest you.  If you are interested in getting involved but your city is not listed below, contact the Committee chair to find out how you can get started on planning one.

Fort Lauderdale: Jeff Hirsch, HirschJ@gtlaw.com
Jacksonville: John MacDonald, john.macdonald@akerman.com
Miami: Mark Stein, mark@marksteinlaw.com    
Orlando: Jennifer Morando, jmorando@therosenthallaw.com
Tallahassee: Janeia Daniels Ingram, JIngram@law.fsu.edu
Tampa: Susan Sharp, ssharp@srbp.com

Best Practices for Pro Bono Policies.  The Committee has created a Best Practices Guide for a Firm Pro Bono Policy (the “Best Practices Guide”).  The Best Practices Guide is intended to encourage law firms to establish a written pro bono policy, and the Best Practices Guide is a helpful tool to be used by law firms in developing such a policy. 

GET THE BEST PRACTICES GUIDE.

Sponsors