Executive Council By-Laws Revisions Task Force

Philip Schwartz


Draft that has been presented to the Board of Governors for approval 

Marked Draft

White Paper

In the summer of 2013, the chair of the Business Law Section appointed a task force to review the Section's bylaws, which have been in place for more than 20 years. The task force, the members of which are Philip B. Schwartz (Chair), Gregory C. Yadley, William A. Van Nortwick, Jr., Douglas A. Bates, Diane Noller Wells and Melanie E. Damian, includes several former Section chairs, as well as current Section leaders, from various disciplines and eras. During its deliberative process, the task force considered the Section's current bylaws, the manner in which the Section presently operates, the current goals and objectives of the Section, and issues as to how the Section ought to operate in the future. The task force also reviewed the bylaws of other sections of The Florida Bar and the ABA Business Law Section.

 In August 2014, the task force presented an initial exposure draft of proposed amended and restated Section bylaws to the Section's executive council. Following the presentation of the exposure draft to the executive council at the Section's summer 2014 annual retreat, the task force received written comments about the exposure draft from numerous members of the executive council. At the end of 2015, the task force presented an updated exposure draft of the proposed Section amended and restated bylaws to the Section's executive council, and at a meeting of the executive council held in January 2016, the Section's executive council approved the revised Section amended and restated bylaws, subject to Board of Governors approval.

 Members of the Section who have questions or comments about the Section's proposed amended and restated bylaws should feel free to contact the chair of the task force at philip.schwartz@akerman.com to provide their comments.